Jon's Weekly Update 5-1-17

posted May 1, 2017, 1:04 PM by Cynthia Friedman
IMPORTANT DATES:
Tues, May 2, 3:15-4:15pm                  TRUE Rehearsal
Thur, May 4, 3:15-4:15pm                 TRUE Rehearsal
Tues, May 9, 3:15-4:15pm                  TRUE Rehearsal
Thurs, May 11                                      Field Trip: 7th Grade: Canopy Connections, 8th Grade: Tree2Tree
Thur, May 11, 3:15-4:15pm                 ****NO TRUE Rehearsal
Tues, May 16, 3:15-4:15pm                  TRUE Rehearsal
Thur, May 18, 3:15-4:15pm                 TRUE Rehearsal
Fri., May 19                                         Jogathon
Sat, May 20, 4-7pm                             TRUE PERFORMANCE: Student Uke Jam, Whirled Pies, Downtown
Mon, May 22                                       Smarter Balanced Testing Begins
Tues, May 23, 12:30pm-12am            TRUE PERFORMANCE: DT Portland and Arlene Schnitzer opening for Jake Shimabukuro and the Oregon Symphony
Thur, May 25, 3:15-4:15pm                LAST TRUE Rehearsal
Sat, May 27, 12pm                              TRUE PERFORMANCE: Spencer Creek Grange 
Mon, June 5-Thurs, June 8              Adventure Trip 2017
Fri, June 9                                          **NO SCHOOL--Middle School ONLY
Thurs, June 15, 6-8pm                       8th Grade Graduation
Fri, June 16                                          Last Day of School
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Middle School Family,

Just a few important updates this week:

May 6 Work Party
On May 6, the middle school Groundskeeping and Gardening elective students are going to host a work party at Ridgeline to help get some big jobs done, including building the garden fence. We're going to need lots of help and tools!  Please click here to RSVP if you'd like to help.

Final Immigration Project
Students are deep in the process of working on their Immigration Projects. Much of our class time is going to be spent putting their projects together (at least 60 minutes every day between May 1 and May 10). Projects are DUE on Wednesday May 10. Students will workshop and refine their finished projects on May 11 and 12. Students will present their projects the week of May 15. Please check in with your student regularly, and encourage them to use their time in class wisely.

8th Grade Slideshow
Only 2 families have uploaded photos for the Graduation Slideshow. The Deadline we're shooting for is May 1. We need photos as soon as possible, so we can get the slideshow put together. Please see the e-mail I sent last week for details and instructions. 

8th Grade Photo Shoot
We're putting together a special gallery of photos of the 8th graders for graduation. Students are encouraged to bring costumes/props that help epitomize who they are (in this time and place). It's a fun project. Please help your student come up with ideas about how they want to dress/act for their photo. For example: One student last week brought her tutu and point shoes and did a ballet pose in front of cherry blossoms.

It's all happening too fast!
Jon & Maizzy
Comments