Jon's Weekly Update 4-22-16

posted Apr 22, 2016, 9:41 AM by Cynthia Friedman

IMPORTANT DATES:

Fri-Sat., April 22-23: ALL DAY:      PeaceJam Conference at UO (Jon and Self-selected 8th Graders)

Tues., April 26, 3:15-4:15 & 6-7pm  Ridgeline Project Fair

Wed., April 27, 3:15-4:30pm             Ultimate Frisbee at Kincaid Park

Thurs, April 28, 3:15-4:15:                TRUE Rehearsal

Tues, May 3, 3:15-4:15:                      TRUE Rehearsal

Wed., May 4, 3:15-4:30pm                 Ultimate Frisbee at Kincaid Park

Thurs, May 5, 3:15-4:15:                   TRUE Rehearsal

Sat., May 7, 2-3pm                             TRUE PERFORMANCE: Junction City (No Cover)

Tues, May 10, 3:15-4:15:                    TRUE Rehearsal

Wed., May 11, 6:00-6:30pm               TRUE PERFORMANCE: Sam Bond's Garage (Opening for Emi Sunshine!) ($5 Cover for parents)

Thurs, May 12                 :                 ******NO TRUE Rehearsal****

Thurs, May 12, 9am-2:30pm             UOTeachOUT Leadership Summit at UO (Jon and Highly motivated 7th and 8th Graders)

Sat., May 14, 4:30-7pm                      TRUE PERFORMANCE: Cozmic Pizza Student Uke Jam (No Cover)

Thurs., May 19, ALL DAY                7th Graders: Canopy Connections; 8th Graders: Tree to Tree

Thurs, May 19                 :                 ******NO TRUE Rehearsal****

Mon., May 31-June 9                         Middle School Smarter Balanced Testing

Sat., June 4, 11:30-12:30pm              TRUE PERFORMANCE: Spencer Creek Grange (No Cover)

Thurs, June 9, 6:30-8:30pm              8th Grade Graduation

Mon, June 13-Thurs, June 16           Middle School Adventure Trip--Florence

 

SUMMER EVENTS!

Sat., June 25 Time TBA                     TRUE PERFORMANCE: Em's Stadium

Thurs., June 30, Time TBA               TRUE PERFORMANCE: OSLP Art Reception

July 5-August 11 (Tues/Thurs)           TENTATIVE: Ukulele Summer Camp 10:30am-12pm; $75 Tuition

Sat, August 13, Time TBA                 TRUE PERFORMANCE: Chalk Art Festival, Springfield

Sat, August 14, 12pm                          TRUE PERFORMANCE: 2nd Star Festival, Florence

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Middle School Family,

Students should have their Native Tribe presentations wrapped up this week.  Presentations will happen in class next week!  

We will start our intensive writing unit on Monday, May 2nd, examining the recent stand-off at the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge from multiple perspectives, including the Federal government, the Bundy family, and the Burns Paiute Tribe.  It's going to be an interesting application of what we've been learning about U.S./Native American relations.

Read-A-Thon

Please help your student collect pledges for our Read-A-Thon.  And more importantly: encourage them to read!  One more week to go!

Ultimate Frisbee

Superstar dad Rob Foltz is putting together a Middle School Ultimate Frisbee Group on Wednesdays, starting next week, April 27.  It'll run from when school gets out until 4:30pm over at Kincaid Park (on the other side of the Amazon Creek by Parker Elementary--now Charlemagne).  Ultimate is pretty much the best sport ever invented, and it's going to be a lot of fun.  There's no cost to participate.  Permission slips came home Friday, April 22.

Project Fair

Project Fair this year is Tuesday, April 26.  The first session is from 3:15-4:15pm.  TRUE will be performing a Concert in front of the school.  From 6-7pm, the students will be putting on a LIVE DEMO of "Fridays in the Middle School."  Students will be playing roleplaying games, cooking food, playing music, making art, and making movies.  It should be a fun glimpse into life in Ridgeline's Middle School program.  Please come check it out!

See you Tuesday!

Jon

 

Comments