Cheri's Weekly Update 5-24-18

posted May 30, 2018, 10:46 AM by Cynthia Friedman

Upcoming Events:
Monday, May 28 NO SCHOOL Memorial Day.
Thursday, May 31 Walk to Tugman Park for lunch (weather permitting)
Friday, June 1 Move up Day
Monday, June 4 Dance-a-thon pledges due
Tuesday, June 5 End of the Year Picnic (5:30-7:00)
Wednesday, June 6 3rd Grade lunch at Subway
Thursday, June 7 8th Grade Graduation
Friday, June 8 NO SCHOOL Grading Day
Saturday, June 9 Rummage Sale
Monday, June 11 Mazzi’s Restaurant Fundraiser
Tuesday, June 12 Field Day
Thursday, June 14 Last Day of School-Early release 1:05

SHARING SUGGESTION: 5/21 A fruit or vegetable, 5/28 A photo or picture

SCHOOL VISITS: Last Thursday I had the opportunity to visit two Montessori Public Charter Schools in the Portland area: Ivy School and Community Roots Montessori Charter School. It’s empowering to realize we are all part of this effort to offer a high-quality Montessori educational opportunity to children. Currently there are more than 500 Montessori Public schools across America!

GARDENING: We have a tentative date for our harvest salad: May 30! Gardener, Kate Walser, will join us and help the children harvest, clean and serve the greens in our garden beds. If you would like to send in some veggies to complement your student’s salad, tuck them into their lunch container.

DANCE-A-THON!!: What fun everyone had Friday night at the Dance-a-thon! Everywhere I looked I saw Ridgeline’s active, happy children and their families having a marvelous time being together. I saw some pretty cool dance moves as wellJ

NATURE ART AND DRAWINGS: Thanks to art teacher, Helen Liu, this week the
students created wonderful ‘Ephemeral Art’ using items from nature.
Some recorded their designs by drawing them on paper. As Azusa says,
“They just can’t do enough art!”

SCIENCE STUDIES: After an amazing two weeks, our butterflies have emerged and been released. Watching the tiny caterpillars grow, become a pupa (cocoon) then morph into Painted Lady butterflies was amazing. We also studied the life cycles of other arthropods.

Thank you for sharing your creative children!

Cheri & Azusa *For more information about Ridgeline’s calendar of events, visit website: www.ridgeline.org



 

 

 

 

 

Comments